Ice Hawks Press Release

Rochester Ice Hawks
Press Release
8/10/17

Three announcements:
1) New staff additions
2) 2017-18 Season Schedule
3) Housing Family Informational Meeting Tuesday, August 15 at Rochester Rec Center

Ice Hawks approach season with new housing and education staff.
The Ice Hawks are pleased to announce that Nikki Kranebell and Shelly Hansen have joined the administrative staff with responsibilities for player housing and education (Bios below).   They are filling positions previously held by Dawn Larson and Traci Prindle.   Over the past decade Dawn and Traci guided the Ice Hawks housing/educational support program to become one of the finest and most respected in all of Jr. Hockey.  Housing programs are the ‘backbone’ of successful programs:  As the Ice Hawks move forward, Nikki’s and Shelly’s energy and enthusiasm will help us meet our commitment to player development both on and off the Ice.  The Ice Hawks are indeed  happy to have them on board.

Nikki Kranebell,
Housing Director

Nikki joins us in the role of Housing Director.  She was born and raised in small towns throughout Southeast Minnesota, graduating from Stewartville High School.  Nikki and her husband Chad have raised their children Jackson and Audie, in Rochester and have been part of the Rochester Youth Hockey Program for 14 years.  Professionally, Nikki works for the Rochester Women’s Magazine as their Marketing Account Manager.  Nikki and her family have a true love for the game of Hockey, the Rochester Ice Hawks and the development of young hockey players from around the country.

Shelly Hansen,
Ed. Coordinator/Asst.Housing Director

Shelly will be sharing the housing duties as well as monitoring players educational concerns and making connections with the players’ teachers as needed. Shelly is recently new to the Rochester area but has had a love of hockey all of her life.  She and her family have recently moved from Norway where she was a teacher. This past year she taught at John Marshall High School in Rochester where she met and worked with several Ice Hawks players.  This next school year she will be teaching at Kasson/Mantorville High School in Kasson, Minnesota.   Shelly is a Wisconsin native having spent her childhood and young adult years in Eau Claire, Wi. She is married to Erling Hansen and has three teenagers; Carl, Sara and Martha.  Shelly is looking forward to working with players and helping them to adjust in their new adventure!

2017 -2018 Schedule – (Home Games are in Red)

Saturday, November 9 at LaCrosse Freeze 7:00 pm
Friday, November 22 at Breezy Point North Stars 7:30 pm
Saturday, November 23 Breezy Point North Stars 7:05 pm
Saturday, November 30 Wilmar Warhawks 7:05 pm
Friday, October 6 at LaCrosse Freeze 7:00 pm
Friday, October 13 at Wausau Riverwolves 7:10 pm
Saturday, October 14 at Wausau Riverwolves 7:10 pm
Friday, October20 at Breezy Point North Stars 7:30 pm
Saturday, October 28 Breezy Point North Stars 7:05 pm
PINK THE RINK – BREAST CANCER GAME
Friday, November 3 at Wisconsin Whalers 7:00 pm
Saturday, November 4 Wisconsin Whalers 7:05 pm
Friday, November 10 at New Ulm Steel 7:10 pm
Saturday, November 11 New Ulm Steel 7:05 pm
MILITARY APPRECIATION NIGHT GAME
Sunday, November 12 at LaCrosse Freeze 3:30 pm
Friday, November 17 North Iowa Bulls 7:05 pm
Saturday, November 18 at North Iowa Bulls 7:30 pm
Saturday, November 25 St Louis Jr Blues 7:05 pm
Sunday, November 26 St Louis Jr Blues 2:00 pm
Friday, December 1 at Wisconsin Whalers 7:00 pm
Saturday, December 2 at Wisconsin Whalers 7:00 pm
Friday, December 8 at North Iowa Bulls 7:30 pm
Saturday, December 9 North Iowa Bulls 7:05 pm
Sunday 12/17 – Tuesday 12/19 NA3HL SHOWCASE Times to be Determined
Saturday, December 30 at North Iowa Bulls 7:30 pm
Sunday, December 31 North Iowa Bulls 7:05 pm
ROCHESTER’S TRADITIONAL NEW YEAR’S EVE GAME
Friday, January 5 Wisconsin Whalers 7:05 pm
Saturday, January 6 Wisconsin Whalers 7:05 pm
Friday, January 12 New Ulm Steel 7:05 pm
Wednesday, January 17 at Wausau Riverwolves 7:10 pm
Friday, January 19 Wausau Riverwolves 7:05 pm
Saturday, January 20 LaCrosse Freeze 7:05 pm
Friday, January 26 Alexandria Blizzard 7:05 pm
Saturday, January 27 at Alexandria Blizzard 7:10 pm
Friday, February 2 at Alexandria Blizzard 7:10 pm
Saturday, February 3 at Wilmar Warhawks 7:30 pm
Friday, February 9 Wilmar Warhawks 7:05 pm
Saturday, February 10 at New Ulm Steel 7:10 pm
Friday, February 16 LaCrosse Freeze 7:05 pm
Saturday, February 17 LaCrosse Freeze 7:05 pm
Friday, February 23 at St Louis Jr Blues 7:00 pm
Saturday, February 24 at St Louis Jr Blues 2:00 pm
Friday, March 2 Alexandria Blizzard 7:05 pm
Saturday, March 3 at Willmar Warhawks 7:30 pm
Friday, March 9 Wausau Riverwolves 7:05 pm
Saturday, March 10 Wausau Riverwolves 7:05 pm

Informational Housing Meeting

The Ice Hawks will be holding a Housing Family informational meeting at the Rec Center at 7:00pm on Tuesday, August 15

Stop by to meet the new staff and learn about the opportunity to join the Ice Hawks in helping elite athletes pursue their dreams of attending college and playing hockey at the intercollegiate level.

Housing families provide a ‘home away from home’, meals, friendship and support for players aged 16-20.  Families receive a monthly stipend from the Ice Hawks, season tickets for family members, a model for younger children and enduring friendships.

Michael ‘Doc’ Fatis  
Rochester Ice Hawks
Cell- 507 358 3095 Fax- 866 212 3434
Email- icehawks@earthlink.net or mfatis@mnicehawks.com
Web- www.mnicehawks.com or www.rochestericehawks.com